Mystic Museum of Art: Camille Aubray (Cooking for Picasso)

Bank Square Books and the Mystic Museum of Art present an author discussion and book signing with Camille Aubray in celebration of her book Cooking for Picasso. This event is free, but RSVP is encouraged. Click the link above to reserve your seat and your book. 

About the Book

COOKING FOR PICASSO is a novel inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Café Paradis. A mysterious new patron who’s slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request—to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he’s secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.

Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life—and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family’s authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.

New York, present day: Céline, a Hollywood make-up artist who’s come home for the holidays, learns from her mother Julie that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother’s enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Céline carries out Julie’s wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Côte d’Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Céline discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine and love that enable her to embrace her own future.

With an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera’s most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, author Camille Aubray serves up a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make, as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.

About the Author
Camille Aubray is an Edward Albee Foundation Fellowship winner, and was a writer-in-residence at the Karolyi Foundation in the South of France. She was also a finalist for the Pushcart Press Editors’ Book Award and the Eugene O’Neill National Playwrights Conference. She studied writing with her mentor Margaret Atwood at Humber College Writers’ Workshop in Toronto. Aubray was a staff writer for the daytime dramas "One Life to Live" and "Capitol," has taught writing at New York University, and wrote and produced for ABC News, PBS, and A&E. 

Event date: 
Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Event address: 
9 Water Street
Mystic, CT 06355
Staff Pick Logo
Cooking for Picasso Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399177668
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - June 20th, 2017

For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist's life.

"A tasty blend of romance, mystery, and French cooking."--Margaret Atwood, via Twitter