AAPI Picks!

Staff Pick Badge
Pachinko (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781455563920
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 14th, 2017

A New York Times Top Ten Book of the Year and National Book Award finalist, Pachinko is an "extraordinary epic" of four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family as they fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan (San Francisco Chronicle).


My Year Abroad: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781594634574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - February 2nd, 2021

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER

“A manifesto to happiness—the one found when you stop running from who you are.” –New York Times Book Review


The Committed Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802157065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - March 2nd, 2021

The sequel to The Sympathizer, which won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction and went on to sell over a million copies worldwide, The Committed tells the story of "the man of two minds" as he comes as a refugee to France and turns his hand to capitalism


Pre-Order Now Badge
Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338671568
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now
Published: Scholastic Press - August 3rd, 2021

Fans of Lisa Greenwald and Wendy Mass are sure to fall head-over-heels for this funny, sweet story of crushes, competition, and the confusing reality of middle school.

"Heartbreak is for suckers."

When Jenna Sakai gets dumped over winter break, it confirms what she learned from her parents' messy divorce: Relationships are risky and only lead to disappointment.


The Sympathizer: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802124944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press - April 12th, 2016

Winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
Winner of the 2016 Edgar Award for Best First Novel
Winner of the 2016 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

" A] remarkable debut novel"--Philip Caputo, New York Times Book Review (cover review)


Bestiary: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593132586
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - September 29th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS’ CHOICE • Three generations of Taiwanese American women are haunted by the myths of their homeland in this spellbinding, visceral debut about one family’s queer desires, violent impulses, and buried secrets.


Whereabouts: A novel Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9780593318317
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - April 27th, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER

A marvelous new novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Lowland and Interpreter of Maladies—her first in nearly a decade—about a woman questioning her place in the world, wavering between stasis and movement, between the need to belong and the refusal to form lasting ties.
 


Interior Chinatown: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307948472
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - November 17th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER

"One of the funniest books of the year. . . . A delicious, ambitious Hollywood satire." —The Washington Post


Native Speaker Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781573225311
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - March 1st, 1996

The debut novel from critically-acclaimed and New York Times–bestselling author of On Such a Full Sea and My Year Abroad.


Breasts and Eggs Cover Image
By Mieko Kawakami, Sam Bett (Translator), David Boyd (Translator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781609456702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - March 23rd, 2021

A BEST BOOK OF 2020
TIME MagazineThe AtlanticBook RiotElectric LiteratureThe New York Times (Notable Book of the Year)

The story of three women by a writer hailed by Haruki Murakami as Japan's most important contemporary novelist, WINNER OF THE AKUTAGAWA PRIZE.


Before the Coffee Gets Cold Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781335430991
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - November 17th, 2020

*OVER ONE MILLION COPIES SOLD*

*NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER*


Staff Pick Badge
Sex and Vanity: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385546270
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - June 30th, 2020

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! 

"Kevin Kwan's new book is his most decadent yet." --Entertainment Weekly


Crying in H Mart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - April 20th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A Best Book of 2021: AV Club • Bustle • Entertainment Weekly • Good Morning America • Chicago Review of Books • Fortune • TIME • CNN Underscored • Apartment Therapy


Jasmine Toguchi, Mochi Queen Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780374308346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - July 11th, 2017

*A fun activity included in every book!*

A Junior Library Guild Fall 2017 Selection
An Amazon's Best Children's Books of 2017

A Beverly Clearly Children's Choice Award Nominee
An Evanston Public Library's 101 Great Books for Kids List 2017
A Chicago Public Library's Best of the Best Books 2017
A 2017 Nerdy Book Club Award Winner


Minor Feelings: An Asian American Reckoning Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984820389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 2nd, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST - NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD WINNER - A ruthlessly honest, emotionally charged, and utterly original exploration of Asian American consciousness

"Brilliant . . . To read this book is to become more human."--Claudia Rankine, author of Citizen


Staff Pick Badge
Eat a Peach: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524759216
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - September 8th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the chef behind Momofuku and star of Netflix’s Ugly Delicious—an intimate account of the making of a chef, the story of the modern restaurant world that he helped shape, and how he discovered that success can be much harder to understand than failure.


Keep It Together, Keiko Carter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338607529
Availability: Ships to Our Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - May 5th, 2020

Fans of Wendy Mass and Lisa Greenwald are sure to fall head-over-heels for this sweet story about first crushes, friendship drama, and finding the courage to stand up for yourself.

Seventh grade is supposed to be a game changer.


The Island of Sea Women: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501154867
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - March 10th, 2020

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A mesmerizing new historical novel” (O, The Oprah Magazine) from Lisa See, the bestselling author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane, about female friendship and devastating family secrets on a small Korean island.

Mi-ja and Young-sook, two girls living on the Korean island of Jeju, are best friends who c


Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062645111
Availability: Ships to Our Store in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - March 6th, 2018

Reese Witherspoon’s Book Club Pick

A lively, sexy, and thought-provoking East-meets-West story about community, friendship, and women’s lives at all ages—a spicy and alluring mix of Together Tea and Calendar Girls.

Every woman has a secret life . . .


The Bad Muslim Discount: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385545259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday - February 2nd, 2021

“Masood’s novel presents a stereoscopic, three-dimensional view of contemporary Muslim America: the way historical conflict in the Middle East lingers in individual lives, the way gossip travels in a close-knit immigrant community.” The New York Times Book Review


Staff Pick Badge
Frankly in Love Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984812223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 1st, 2020

An Instant New York Times Bestseller and #1 Indie Bestseller!

A William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

 
An Asian Pacific American Librarians Association Honor Book

Two friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go wrong?


Parachutes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062941084
Availability: Ships to Our Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 26th, 2020

Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern immigrant story from New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang about two girls navigating wealth, power, friendship, and trauma.


The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781501154836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - April 3rd, 2018

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See, “one of those special writers capable of delivering both poetry and plot” (The New York Times Book Review), a moving novel about tradition, tea farming, and the bonds between mothers and daughters.

In their remote mountain village, Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea.


Red Pill: A novel Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9780451493712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 1st, 2020

ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES'S 100 NOTABLE BOOKS OF 2020
ONE OF NPR's BEST BOOKS OF 2020
ONE OF THE A.V. CLUB'S 15 FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2020

From the widely acclaimed author of White Tears, a bold new novel about searching for order in a world that frames madness as truth.


This Time Will Be Different Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780062473448
Availability: Special Order
Published: HarperTeen - June 4th, 2019

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book * A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own history.


How Much of These Hills Is Gold: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525537212
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - April 6th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES  NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK OF THE YEAR

ONE OF BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR

ONE OF NPR'S BEST BOOKS OF 2020 

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 BOOKER PRIZE

FINALIST FOR THE 2020 CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE


Gold Diggers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984882035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - April 6th, 2021

*A Good Morning America Buzz Pick * Soon to be a series produced by Mindy Kaling * New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice * A Vox Bookclub Pick* 

“Dizzyingly original, fiercely funny, deeply wise.” —Celeste Ng, #1 bestselling author of Little Fires Everywhere


Tell Me How You Really Feel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250251022
Availability: Ships to Our Store in 1-5 Days
Published: Square Fish - October 13th, 2020

Aminah Mae Safi's Tell Me How You Really Feel is an ode to romantic comedies, following two girls on opposite sides of the social scale as they work together to make a movie and try very hard not to fall in love.


Family Trust: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062855268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 29th, 2019

“A globe-trotting, whirlwind, tragi-comic family saga that wrings tears from absurdity and laughter from loss.  A joy to read from start to finish.”
   — Andrew Sean Greer, author of Less, winner of the 2018 Pulitzer Prize