Psalms for the City: Original Poetry Inspired by the Places We Call Home (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Psalms for the City: Original Poetry Inspired by the Places We Call Home By John-Paul Flintoff Cover Image

Psalms for the City: Original Poetry Inspired by the Places We Call Home (Hardcover)

$19.99


Coming Soon - Available for Preorder Now

The whole of life can be found in the psalms. It can also be found in our cities.

Psalms for the City is a beautifully illustrated book of poetry that offers comfort, inspiration and encouragement for the heart and soul, as John-Paul Flintoff puts into vibrant, captivating and sometimes heart-wrenching words the pockets of peace he has found in the midst of the non-stop noise and colourful chaos of the city.

Inspired by the psalms - some of the oldest and most soul-stirring poetry in the world - Flintoff's fluid style and technical skills take us on a private tour of our most-loved urban landscapes and reveal the spiritual nourishment in some of its most famous sights. In countless churches and sacred spaces, he shows us locations to lament; he teaches us to discover joy in crowded marketplaces; and shares how he found hope searching the horizon atop Hampstead Heath.

With his own hand-drawn illustrations to accompany the poems, Psalms for the City is a book that poetry lovers will treasure and is perfect for fans of Charlie Mackesy. Presented in a beautiful hardback format, it will also make a wonderful gift for friends and family, and for those who love the diversity of city life.

Open and honest, these are modern day psalms that chart John-Paul's discovery that the extraordinary places welcomed the ordinary, and that when we're looking closely, the ordinary places can become extraordinary.

Psalms for the City is an invitation to take your imagination on a pilgrimage across the city, experiencing the full depths of what it means to be human today.
John-Paul Flintoff is a writer, artist and performer. His books include Sew Your Own, What If The Queen Should Die?, and most recently A Modest Book About How to Make an Adequate Speech. Psalms for the City is his first poetry collection.
Product Details ISBN: 9780281086047
ISBN-10: 0281086044
Publisher: SPCK Publishing
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2022
Pages: 120
Language: English