In the Shadow of Lightning (Glass Immortals #1) (Hardcover)

In the Shadow of Lightning (Glass Immortals #1) By Brian McClellan Cover Image

In the Shadow of Lightning (Glass Immortals #1) (Hardcover)

$28.99


Available at One of Our Locations
Bank Square Books
1 on hand, as of Dec 5 3:33am
(SCI FI / FANTASY)

From Brian McClellan, author of The Powder Mage trilogy, comes the first novel in the Glass Immortals series, In the Shadow of Lightning, an epic fantasy where magic is a finite resource—and it’s running out.

"Excellent worldbuilding and a truly epic narrative combine into Brian's finest work to date. Heartily recommended to anyone who wants a new favorite fantasy series to read."—Brandon Sanderson


Demir Grappo is an outcast—he fled a life of wealth and power, abandoning his responsibilities as a general, a governor, and a son. Now he will live out his days as a grifter, rootless, and alone. But when his mother is brutally murdered, Demir must return from exile to claim his seat at the head of the family and uncover the truth that got her killed: the very power that keeps civilization turning, godglass, is running out.

Now, Demir must find allies, old friends and rivals alike, confront the powerful guild-families who are only interested in making the most of the scraps left at the table and uncover the invisible hand that threatens the Empire. A war is coming, a war unlike any other. And Demir and his ragtag group of outcasts are the only thing that stands in the way of the end of life as the world knows it.

"Powerful rival families, murderous conspiracies, epic battles, larger-than-life characters, and magic."—Fonda Lee, author of The Green Bone Saga

"Engaging, fast-paced and epic."—James Islington, author of In The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Clever, fun, and by turns beautifully bloody, In the Shadow of Lightning hits like a bolt through a stained glass window."—Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Chaos Vector

Brian McClellan is an American epic fantasy author from Cleveland, Ohio. He is known for his acclaimed Powder Mage Universe and essays on the life and business of being a writer. Brian now lives on the side of a mountain in Utah with his wife, Michele, where he writes books and nurses a crippling video game addiction.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250755698
ISBN-10: 1250755697
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 576
Language: English
Series: Glass Immortals

"Excellent worldbuilding and a truly epic narrative combine into Brian's finest work to date. Heartily recommended to anyone who wants a new favorite fantasy series to read."—Brandon Sanderson

“Brian McClellan’s latest is another excellent military fantasy, with action from duels to full-scale battles in a fascinating world of glass and secrets. Fans of Brandon Sanderson or Anthony Ryan will love this one.” —Django Wexler, author of The Shadow Campaigns series

"Powerful rival families, murderous conspiracies, epic battles, larger-than-life characters, and magic."—Fonda Lee, author of The Green Bone Saga

"Engaging, fast-paced and epic."—James Islington, author of In The Shadow of What Was Lost

"Clever, fun, and by turns beautifully bloody, In the Shadow of Lightning hits like a bolt through a stained glass window."—Megan E. O'Keefe, author of Chaos Vector