The Big Six (Swallows and Amazons #9) (Compact Disc)

In this (more or less) sequel to the adventures of Coot Club, Arthur Ransome returns once more to his beloved Norfolk Broads where trouble is again brewing for Joe, Bill, and Pete, the three boatbuilders' sons who (more or less) live full-time aboard the Death and Glory, and the three Coots, Tom, Dorothea and Dick.

The problem seems to be that boats are constantly being set adrift, and all the evidence points squarely at the three Death and Glories. In a clever bit of detective work, and with some help from a sophisticated photographic trap, the Big Six manage to exonerate themselves and catch the villains.

Of course, this book, like all Ransome titles, is about a lot more than clever detective work; it has the smell of water and tarred rope, the sound of birds, and the plight of children left to their own devices and coping with everything from catching monster pike to trapping midnight eels.

Product Details ISBN: 9781455857654
ISBN-10: 1455857653
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: September 1st, 2012
Language: English
Series: Swallows and Amazons