The Starship and the Canoe (Paperback)

The Starship and the Canoe By Kenneth Brower, Neal Stephenson (Foreword by) Cover Image

The Starship and the Canoe (Paperback)

$18.95


Available at One of Our Locations
Bank Square Books
1 on hand, as of Sep 30 11:33am
(BIOGRAPHY / AUTOBIOGRAPHY / MEMOIR)
"The Starship and the Canoe is neither a wilderness survival manual nor a book of blueprints. It is another of those rare books impossible to define: the kind that seeks you in time. And you will know it, live it, and consult it thereafter simply by name." --Chicago Sun-Times

"In the tradition of Carl Sagan and John McPhee, a bracing cerebral voyage past intergalactic hoopla and backwoods retreats." --Kirkus Reviews

Originally published in 1978, The Starship and the Canoe is the remarkable story of a father and son: Freeman Dyson is a world-renowned astrophysicist who dreams of exploring the heavens and has designed a spaceship to take him there. His son George, a brilliant high school dropout, lives in a treehouse and is designing a giant kayak to explore the icy coastal wilderness of the Pacific Northwest and Alaska. Author Kenneth Brower describes with stunning impact their lives and their visions of the world. It is a timeless tale framed by modern science, adventure, family, and the natural world.
Product Details ISBN: 9781680512786
ISBN-10: 1680512781
Publisher: Mountaineers Books
Publication Date: March 15th, 2020
Pages: 288
Language: English