My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction (Compact Disc)

My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction By Arundhati Roy, Tania Rodrigues (Read by) Cover Image

My Seditious Heart: Collected Nonfiction (Compact Disc)


call to order

Bookended by her two extraordinary novels, The God of Small Things (1997) and The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (2017), My Seditious Heart collects the work of a two-decade period when Arundhati Roy devoted herself to the political essay as a way of opening up space for justice, rights, and freedoms in an increasingly hostile environment.

Radical and superbly readable, the essays speak in a voice of unique spirit, marked by compassion, clarity, and courage. Roy offers a powerful defense of the collective, of the individual, and of the land, in the face of the destructive logic of financial, social, religious, military, and governmental elites.

In constant conversation with the themes and settings of her novels, the essays form a near-unbroken memoir of Arundhati Roy's journey as both a writer and a citizen, of both India and the world, from "The End of Imagination," which begins this book, to "My Seditious Heart," with which it ends.

Product Details ISBN: 9781982679958
ISBN-10: 1982679956
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Publication Date: June 4th, 2019
Language: English