SAVOY: Author Talk and Book Signing with Amy Bass (One Goal)

Bank Square Books presents a discussion and book signing with Amy Bass, the author of the new book One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game that Brought a Divided Town Together. This event is free and open to the public.

About One Goal 
One Goal tells the inspiring story about overcoming the prejudices that divided a town bristling with racial tension. When thousands of Somali refugees resettled in struggling and mostly white Lewiston, Maine, longtime residents grew uneasy. The mayor even wrote a letter asking Somalis to stop coming, garnering national attention. While scandal threatened to subsume the town, its high school's soccer coach began to integrate Somali kids onto his team, and shared passion began to heal old wounds as Somali refugees and multi-generational Mainers united in a quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.

 

 

About Amy Bass
A professor of history in New York, Amy Bass lived in Lewiston, Maine for four years as a student at Bates College. Her writing has appeared in Slate, Salon, and CNN Opinion, and her work for NBC's Olympics coverage earned her an Emmy in 2012 for Outstanding Live Event Turnaround. One Goal is her fourth book.

 

Event date: 
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 4:00pm to 5:00pm
Event address: 
Savoy Bookshop and Café
10 Canal St.
Westerly, RI 02891
One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game That Brought a Divided Town Together Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316396547
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - February 27th, 2018

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.