OCEAN HOUSE: Author Series Presents Elliott Ackerman & Joanne Leedom-Ackerman

Author Series Presents Luanne Rice for Last Night

Join us as Ocean House owner and bestselling author, Deborah Goodrich Royce moderates a conversation with New York Times bestselling authors, and mother/son duo, Elliott Ackerman and Joanna Leedom-Ackerman who will be discussing (and signing) their books: Joanne Leedom-Ackerman’s The Far Side of the Desert and Elliott Ackerman’s Halcyon. Refreshments will be served, including wine and light bites!

Please note that tickets purchased for this event are non-refundable. A copy of one of the featured books is included in the cost of the ticket. Copies of all books will be available for purchase at the event.

$45/person (plus tax & service charge)
PURCHASE TICKETS HERE


book coverAbout The Far Side of the Desert

A terrorist attack—a kidnapping—the ultimate vacation gone wrong

Sisters Samantha and Monte Waters are vacationing together in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, enjoying a festival and planning to meet with their brother, Cal—but the idyllic plans are short-lived. When terrorists’ attacks rock the city around them, Monte, a U.S. foreign service officer, and Samantha, an international television correspondent, are separated, and one of them is whisked away in the frenzy.

The family mobilizes, using all their contacts to try to find their missing sister, but to no avail. She has vanished. As time presses on, the outlook darkens. Can she be found, or is she a lost cause? And, even if she returns, will the damage to her and those around her be irreparable?

Moving from Spain to Washington to Morocco to Gibraltar to the Sahara Desert, The Far Side of the Desert is a family drama and political thriller that explores links of terrorism, crime, and financial manipulation, revealing the grace that ultimately foils destruction.

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Daniel Silva

About Joanne Leedon-Ackerman

JOANNE LEEDOM-ACKERMAN is a novelist, short story writer, and journalist whose works of fiction include Burning Distance, The Dark Path to the River, and No Marble Angels. Her recent nonfiction book, PEN Journeys: Memoir of Literature on the Line, drew inspiration from her job as a vice president of the worldwide writers and human rights organization, PEN International. She is also on the boards of American Writers Museum, the International Center for Journalists, Words Without Borders, and Refugees International, as well as a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Texas Institute of Letters. A native of Dallas, she has lived in New York City, Los Angeles, London, and Washington, DC.

About 2054

From the acclaimed authors of the runaway New York Times bestseller 2034 comes another explosive work of speculative fiction set twenty years further in the future, at a moment when a radical leap forward in artificial intelligence combines with America's violent partisan divide to create an existential threat to the country, and the world

It is twenty years after the catastrophic war between the United States and China that brought down the old American political order. A new party has emerged in the US, one that's held power for over a decade. Efforts to cement its grip have resulted in mounting violent resistance. The American president has control of the media, but he is beginning to lose control of the streets. Many fear he'll stop at nothing to remain in the White House.

Suddenly, he collapses in the middle of an address to the nation. After an initial flurry of misinformation, the administration reluctantly announces his death. A cover-up ensues, conspiracy theories abound, and the country descends into a new type of civil war.
A handful of elite actors from the worlds of computer science, intelligence, and business have a fairly good idea what happened. All signs point to a profound breakthrough in AI, of which the remote assassination of an American president is hardly the most game-changing ramification. The trail leads to an outpost in the Amazon rainforest, the last known whereabouts of the tech visionary who predicted this breakthrough. As some of the world's great powers, old and new, state and nonstate alike, struggle to outmaneuver one another in this new Great Game of scientific discovery, the outcome becomes entangled with the fate of American democracy.
Combining a deep understanding of AI, biotech, and the possibility of a coming Singularity, along with their signature geopolitical sophistication, Elliot Ackerman and Admiral James Stavridis have once again written a visionary work. 2054 is a novel that reads like a thriller even as it demands that we consider the trajectory of our society and its potentially calamitous destination.

About Elliott Ackerman

ELIOTT ACKERMAN is the author of the novels Halcyon, Red Dress in Black and White, Waiting for Eden, Dark at the Crossing, and Green on Blue, and the memoirs The Fifth Act and Places and Names. His books have been nominated for numerous awards, to include the National Book Award, the Andrew Carnegie Medal in fiction and nonfiction, and the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. He is a contributing writer at The Atlantic and a Marine veteran, having served five tours of duty in Iraq and Afghanistan, where he received the Silver Star, the Bronze Star for Valor, and the Purple Heart.

The Far Side of the Desert By Joanne Leedom-Ackerman Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781608095353
Availability: Ships to Our Store in 2-8 Days
Published: Oceanview Publishing - March 5th, 2024

A terrorist attack—a kidnapping—the ultimate vacation gone wrong

Sisters Samantha and Monte Waters are vacationing together in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, enjoying a festival and planning to meet with their brother, Cal—but the idyllic plans are short-lived. When terrorists’ attacks rock the city around them, Monte, a U.S.


2054: A Novel By Elliot Ackerman, Admiral James Stavridis, USN Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593489864
Availability: Currently On Hand In Store
Published: Penguin Press - March 12th, 2024

From the acclaimed authors of the runaway New York Times bestseller 2034 comes another explosive work of speculative fiction set twenty years further in the future, at a moment when a radical leap forward in artificial intelligence combines with America’s violent partisan divide to create an existential threat to the country, and the world


Wednesday, May 22, 2024 - 5:00pm to 7:00pm
Ocean House
1 Bluff Ave
Westerly, RI 02891