SAVOY: Lynne Reeves (Dark Rivers to Cross) in Conversation With Luanne Rice

Savoy Bookshop & Café presents an author talk with Lynne Reeves in conversation with Luanne Rice for the book Dark Rivers to Cross.

dark rivers to cross book coverAbout the Book

For fans of Hannah Mary McKinnon and Kimberley Belle, this emotionally charged thriller explores long-buried family secrets and the deadly reckoning that often follows their explosive reveal.

For two decades, Lena Blackwell has kept her sons at her side, teaching them everything she knows about running their successful river lodge in Northern Maine. But what she really wants is to keep her boys in the dark about their tragic past. 

Her son Luke is right where he belongs, working at the family inn sheltered by acres of pine forest that stretch along the Penobscot River. So when his adopted brother, Jonah, threatens to upend their peaceful life by searching for his biological parents, Luke refuses to help. 

Lena is determined to thwart Jonah's search to uncover his own history. But the unexpected arrival of old friends at the inn for a weekend off the grid throws her plans into disarray. Little does she know, Jonah has already gleaned enough information to set in motion a deadly reckoning. 

Luke may not want to know anything about his family, but he's caught between the hard truths his brother is determined to expose and the devastating secret his mother is desperate to keep--at any cost. 

Dark Rivers to Cross sensitively explores inherited trauma and the stories we tell the ones we love. It's about what one mother is willing to sacrifice for her children.

About the Author

Lynne Reeves is an internationally recognized family counselor and novelist. Her short fiction, essays, and articles have appeared in Parents, Psychology Today, Solstice Literary Magazine, Chautauqua Journal, Craft Literary, Fiction Writers Review, Brain, Child and more. Lynne regularly appears as a media guest expert to discuss contemporary family life and preventive mental health.

Tuesday, November 15, 2022 - 5:30pm
Savoy Bookshop and Café
10 Canal St.
Westerly, RI 02891
Dark Rivers to Cross: A Novel By Lynne Reeves Cover Image
$28.99
Currently Unavailable
ISBN: 9781639101214
Published: Crooked Lane Books - November 8th, 2022

For fans of Hannah Mary McKinnon and Kimberley Belle, this emotionally charged thriller explores long-buried family secrets and the deadly reckoning that often follows their explosive reveal.