BSB: Sarah Prager (Kind Like Marsha) Author Storytime

sarah prager event banner

Bank Square Books presents a storytime with Sarah Prager for the new book Kind Like Marsha


kind like marsha CoverAbout the Book

For fans of Little Leaders and Pride comes a nonfiction picture book celebrating 14 incredible LGBTQ+ change makers and forward thinkers throughout history.

Kind Like Marsha celebrates 14 amazing and inspirational LGBTQ+ people throughout history. Fan favorites like Harvey Milk, Sylvia Rivera, and Audre Lorde are joined by the likes of Leonardo da Vinci, Frida Kahlo, and more in this striking collection. With a focus on a positive personality attribute of each of the historical figures, readers will be encouraged to be brave like the Ugandan activist fighting for LGBTQ+ rights against all odds and to be kind like Marsha P. Johnson who took care of her trans community on the New York City streets.

About the Author

Sarah Prager is the author of four books on LGBTQ+ history for youth. Queer, There, and Everywhere: 23 People Who Changed the World (HarperCollins, 2017), a young adult book, has received numerous distinctions including three starred reviews and being named a 2017 Best Book for Teens by the New York Public Library. Her second book, Rainbow Revolutionaries: 50 LGBTQ+ People Who Made History, released in May 2020 from HarperCollins for ages 8-12, is a Junior Library Guild selection. Her third book, Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders, will be released on August 2, 2022, and her fourth, A Child's Introduction to Pride, will be released in May 2023. Sarah has presented on LGBTQ+ history to dozens of audiences across eight countries, including the U.S. Embassy in Mexico City. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, The Atlantic, National Geographic, HuffPost, NBC News, and other national outlets. She lives in Massachusetts with her wife and their two young children. Learn more at www.sarahprager.com and follow on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Kind Like Marsha: Learning from LGBTQ+ Leaders By Sarah Prager, Cheryl Thuesday (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sarah Prager, Cheryl Thuesday (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762475001
Availability: Available at One of Our Locations
Published: Running Press Kids - August 2nd, 2022

For fans of Little Leaders and Pride comes a nonfiction picture book celebrating 14 incredible LGBTQ+ change makers and forward thinkers throughout history.

Kind Like Marsha celebrates 14 amazing and inspirational LGBTQ+ people throughout history.


Sunday, October 2, 2022 - 11:00am
Bank Square Books
53 West Main Street
Mystic, CT 06320