SAVOY: Debbi Michiko Florence (Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai) Book Launch Party

Debbi Florence Event Banner

Savoy Bookshop & Café presents a book launch party with Debbi Michiko Florence for the release of the new book Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai! This is going to be an incredible event featuring the chance to win great prizes, a wonderful author talk and Q&A, and special treats!

 This event is free, but registration is requested. Registration details are at the bottom of this page.

About the Book

Fans of Lisa Greenwald and Wendy Mass are sure to fall head-over-heels for this funny, sweet story of crushes, competition, and the confusing reality of middle school.

"Heartbreak is for suckers."

When Jenna Sakai gets dumped over winter break, it confirms what she learned from her parents' messy divorce: Relationships are risky and only lead to disappointment. So even though she still has to see her ex-boyfriend Elliott at newspaper club, Jenna is going to be totally heartless this semester -- no boys, just books.

But keeping her cool isn't always easy. Jenna's chief competition for a big journalism scholarship is none other than Elliott. Her best friend Keiko always seems busy with her own boyfriend. And cute-but-incredibly-annoying Rin Watanabe keeps stealing her booth at the diner she's been hiding at every day after school. Rin is every bit as stubborn and detached as Jenna. And the more Jenna gets to know him, the more intriguing a mystery he seems. Soon Jenna is starting to realize that being a loner is kind of, well, lonely. And letting people in might just be a risk worth taking.

About Debbi Michiko Florence

Debbi Michiko Florence is the author of Keep It Together, Keiko Carter, a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection and New England Book Award finalist, and the Jasmine Toguchi chapter books. A third-generation Japanese American and native Californian, Debbi lives in Connecticut with her husband, rescue dog, rabbit, and duck. Visit her online at debbimichikoflorence.com.

 
Event date: 
Sunday, August 8, 2021 - 3:00pm
Event address: 

If you would like Debbi Michiko Florence to personalize your signed copy of Just Be Cool, Jenna Sakai please make a note in the order comments at checkout.

Each personalized/signed book preordered from our website will receive: a Jenna Sakai bookmark, cover sticker or Leigh's Stage Diner sticker, Jenna doodle sticker (1 of 4 styles), and a Heartbreak is for Suckers limited edition button! Plus, one lucky person will win a GRAND PRIZE of fun book swag! (Pictured Below)

Each pre-order through our website will be entered into the grand prize drawing. 
Grand Prize includes:
-    A cute lavender backpack
-    2 of Jenna’s notebooks with stickers from the actual book cover shoot!
-    2 of Jenna’s enamel pins from the book cover shoot!
-    Exclusive Leigh’s Stage Diner mug
-    A package of delicious Japanese curry mix
-    Your very own chopsticks
-    Jenna’s coin purse from the book cover shoot!
-    Jenna’s pens from the book cover shoot!
[items from the book cover shoot generously provided by the cover designer/Scholastic]

A winner will be chosen the morning of publication, August 3rd 2021. The prize is open to U.S. mailing addresses only.