SAVOY: Regina Hansen (The Coming Storm) Author Talk and Q&A

Regina Hansen Event Banner

Savoy Bookshop & Café presents an author talk and Q&A with Regina Hansen for her debut YA novel The Coming Storm! 

 This event is free, but registration is requested. Registration details are at the bottom of this page.

The Coming Storm CoverAbout the Book

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice to her childhood adventures with her older cousin, Gerry, the two of them thick as thieves as they explored their Prince Edward Island home. So when Gerry comes up the path one early spring morning, Beet thinks nothing of it at first. But he is soaking wet and silent, and he plays a haunting tune on his fiddle that chills Beet to the bone. Something is very, very wrong.

Things only get worse when Marina Shaw saunters into town and takes an unsettling interest in Gerry’s new baby. Local lore is filled with tales of a vicious shape-shifting sea creature and the cold, beautiful woman who controls him—a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Marina. Beet is determined to find out what happened to her beloved cousin, and to prevent the same fate from befalling the handsome new boy in town who is winning her heart, whether she wants him to or not. Yet the sea always exacts a price...

About Regina Hansen

Regina M Hansen was born in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada, where she lived as a small child before moving to Montreal, Quebec, and finally Massachusetts. She has always divided her time among these special places and continues to call them all home. She studied English and Anthropology at Tufts University and received her PhD in English from Boston College. She teaches at Boston University and has written books and articles for adults and children on many subjects, including horror movies, Halloween, elves, fairy tales, vampires, angels, King Arthur, religion, witchcraft, folklore and myth, and has even co-edited a book on the television series Supernatural. From a family of artists and performers, she loves to read, sing, crochet and sew, and to walk the woods and beaches of New England and Eastern Canada. She lives in Somerville, Massachusetts with her husband, three children and many pets.

Event date: 
Sunday, September 26, 2021 - 3:00pm
Event address: 
Savoy Bookshop and Café
10 Canal St.
Westerly, RI 02891
The Coming Storm Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534482449
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 1st, 2021

Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, atmospheric fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life.