VIRTUAL: Dinitia Smith (The Prince) Author Talk and Q&A

The Prince Event Banner

Bank Square Books and Savoy Bookshop & Café present an author talk and Q&A with Dinitia Smith for the new book, The Prince. 
 This event is free, but registration is required. Registration details are at the bottom of this page.

The Prince CoverAbout the Book

A modern retelling of The Golden Bowl by Henry James for fans of Sally Rooney and Kate Atkinson. 

From their grand mansion on the Upper East Side to their magical private island in Long Island Sound, everything points to the Woodford family as being perfect and idyllic. Why, then, is there such tension in the air?

Enter Federico, a penniless Italian prince who is about to marry Emily Woodford, the only child of the family’s widowed patriarch, Henry. When Emily's beautiful, enigmatic childhood friend, Christina, appears on the scene as a guest at their wedding, trouble begins, for she and the Prince once had a passionate affair. Henry, however, is also enchanted by Christina. Now both Emily and her father must face a new reality, and learn whom they can, or cannot, trust.

About Dinitia Smith

Dinitia Smith is the author of four previous novels, including The Illusionist, which was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year, and her short stories have been published in numerous magazines. For eleven years, she was a reporter at the New York Times where she wrote on literary topics and intellectual trends. Smith has won many awards for her writing, including fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, the MacDowell Colony, and the Bread Loaf Writers Conference. She is also an Emmy Award winning filmmaker. Her drama, Passing Quietly Through, was chosen for the New York Film Festival, and shown at the Whitney Museum and the Museum of Modern Art. 

The Prince: A Novel By Dinitia Smith Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781950994199
Availability: Available at One of Our Locations
Published: Arcade - March 1st, 2022

A modern retelling of The Golden Bowl by Henry James for fans of Sally Rooney and Kate Atkinson. 

From their grand mansion on the Upper East Side to their magical private island in Long Island Sound, everything points to the Woodford family as being perfect and idyllic.


Tuesday, March 8, 2022 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Zoom